NaaceImpactAwards2016Naace has no doubt about the impact that technology can have on learning and teaching when used well by skilled and creative professionals. Technology makes a real difference to learner’s achievement and engagement; it offers access to resources that would otherwise be beyond the reach of any school or college; it allows communication and collaboration beyond the physical and temporal limits of the classroom and it allows learners to think more clearly and see the world from another perspective.

Naace has a long standing history of supporting those working in education to use technology to achieve the greatest possible impact, and now also provides some formal recognition of outstanding work in this area.

The Naace Impact Award winners are announced!

Winners were announced at the National Education Technology Conference on Thursday 24 March and those that were in attendance collected their awards on stage. This year we received some fantastic nominations and the calibre of applications was extremely high – many congratulations to all the winners and also to those that were short-listed.

Leadership Impact
Kate Atkins – Headteacher at Rosendale Primary School won the award.
Martin Van Hecke – Sunny Bank Primary School
Katharine Jewitt – Director, Beyond Outstanding
Gareth Shaw – Chairperson of ICT Strategy Group Ballyclare High School


Early Years & Primary Impact
Christmas Truce eTwinning project – Diana Linford (project co-ordinator) won the award
Stuart HughesHautlieu School Primary Coding Project
Christine Terrey – Improving Communication Skills at Harbour Primary
Claire Jones – Layton Primary School, Digital Leaders


Secondary Impact
Serena Davies – ‘eDdysg Project’ @ Ysgol y Preseli won the award

Emma Darcy, Apps for Good Educator
Serena Davies – Turning Traditional Education on its Head: The Flipped Classroom
Gareth Shaw – ICT Strategy Group Ballyclare High School
Jay Ashcroft – Broadgreen Maths Department iPad Intervention / LearnMaker


Inclusion and SEN Impact – sponsored by ASUS 
Donna Holloway – Woodlands School, Plymouth won the award
Bruce Seymour – Matific
Tom Radge – Ganton Special School


Curriculum Support Service Impact
Dr Carol Porter – Technology Curriculum Support Centre, Bury won the award

Matt Rogers – DigitalMe & Sharon Ashley – Makewaves


Technical Support in Schools Service Impact
Lipson Co-operative Academy won the award
Pavan Mallavarapu, Joskos Managed Service Engineer for his support at Clockhouse Primary School – highly commended
Will Parkes – Red Top IT
Becky Senior – ICT4Collaboration


Winners received:

  • A specially commissioned award to keep
  • Complimentary membership of Naace for one year
  • The winners will also be invited to write a report about their work for inclusion in Naace’s Advancing Education journal


Thank you to all those involved in the awards.